This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

nvidia drivers not working

First off: I'm new to linux, this is my first real go at making it work, so please be patient with my lack of experience.

The system:
    256MB RAM
    2.4GHz intel cpu
    on-board intel video card
    geforce4 mx440 pci video card

My issue is this: I couldn't get the live cd to work, it kept going to a black screen after the splash went away. Thinking this was some issue with me not having enough memory or the like, I opted to install using the alternate cd. No hickups during installation, worked like a charm.

An initial bootup yielded the exact same scenario. After the splash goes down, the screen goes black. Still getting an input from the video card, but it's just black.

After receiving some assistance from the folks on irc, I've tried/discovered a few things...

Tried installing the nvidia-glx-legacy package. Was sure to do the "sudo nvidia-glx-config enable" thing. Same black screen. Reverted back to non-legacy drivers and tried the same thing. Same black screen.

I opened xorg.conf and am poking around... so far as I can tell, the only thing the enable script (I assume it's a script anyway) changed was one line, from Driver "intel" to Driver "nvidia". It failed to change the Identifier (which is still a big line starting with "Intel Corporation..." or the BusID.

I'd rather not force my computer into sharing its memory with the onboard video.

I need help. If this belongs in the hardware section, I apologize and ask that someone move it.

I'll be watching the post for responses and will reply to queries in as timely a manner as possible.

Thanks.

Re: nvidia drivers not working

Originally posted by gs3user007
    First off: I'm new to linux, this is my first real go at making it work, so please be patient with my lack of experience.
    Hey nice to have you!!

I have two suggestions, first one might seem VERY silly.