This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need drivers for Dell 720 printer

I have recently installed Gutsy. In doing so, I erased the copy I had of the driver package for a Dell 720, aka Lexmark Z600 something. Unfortunately -- and maybe on purpose -- Lexmark seems to have removed all Linux drivers from their site. In "exchange", they provide tools Linux developers can use to develop drivers. Is this out-sourcing or just plain refusal to accept the existence of Linux. I have my opinion...

Sorry, errror there. Lexmark driver links all give an error 404. It's HP, normally considered fairly linux-friendly, who have replaced all Linux pointers with links to a page explaining they have developer software available. Not much help in either case.

Anyway, I am not a LInux developer. Does anyone have or know where I can obtain this driver package?

Thanks in advance.

I would go out and buy another printer, except I just ordered two incredibly expensive ink cartridges for this one...
    'I must have a prodigious quantity of mind; it takes me as much as a week sometimes to make it up.' Mark Twain

Re: Need drivers for Dell 720 printer

Try installing the package "foomatic-db-gutenprint". That should be the one that contains all the printer drivers.
    For external use only.

Comment

Originally posted by SheeEttin
      Try installing the package "foomatic-db-gutenprint". That should be the one that contains all the printer drivers.
      That is already installed, apparently by default, in Gutsy. So what do I do with it? I've tried installing the printer after installing the CJLZ600LE-CUPS-1.0-1.TAR.gz file (so the Lexmark Z600 is in the list), but am unable to print a test page.

On another tack, I've tried the method using

z600cups_1.0-1_i386.deb and z600llpddk_2.0-1_i386.deb

which is given at

http://www.autostatic.com/linux/lexmarkz605-suse93.html

and, similarly, at

http://openprinting.org/show_printer...m=Lexmark-Z615