This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

C++ Programming Question

I am not to sure where to post this question but I thought that this would be the best place to put it. Here it goes.

I am a noob c++ programmer, I make mistakes but I do learn from them. I am writing a program to mess around with classes and inheritance. I have everything thought out except for one thing. I am going to cite the problem/example.

When the user selects a deposit and types in lets say 25.46; How do I get rid of the period. I do not want to use two integers values to store it. Thank you for your help.
    Proud to be Kubuntu user # 17587

Re: C++ Programming Question

Questions concerning specific programing languages should be asked in an appropriate forum for that purpose. Not trying to put you off here, but it doesn't seem as if your question belongs within this forum. Google searching on C++ forums finds many. May I refer you to one such:
    http://www.codeguru.com/forum/
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Will try to post in the right next time. ty for the help though.

Comment

Snowhog already said it all about what the forum covers, but just to not leave you without an answer:
        - Store this float in a string, preferably a C type;
        - Loop through the string positions until you locate the ".";
        - Copy the contents before and after the "." to another string or just overwrite the "." by copying everything after it to their previous positions;
        - Don't forget to add the string terminator right after the last digit;
        - Copy the content of this string back to an integer variable.