X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

system freeze

Hi,

I'm relatively new to kubuntu and since a day or two my system freezes completely when using anything related to multimedia (amarok, kaffeine etc etc).

This only started to happen a day ago. In windows xp I have no trouble at all so I'm guessing it is a kubuntu problem. I've searched for a solution but nothing seems to help.

system amd x2 4200
    2 gig ram
    nvidia fx7900

kernel: 2.6.20-16-generic (32 bit)

disabling beryl doesn't change anything.
    as long as I stay away from music or video all seems fine

Any suggestions? I hate having to use windows xp again but kubuntu is unusable right now

Re: system freeze

does the system behave the same way with the old(er) kernel?
    gnu/linux is not windoze

Comment

The strange thing is I haven't done anything to the install. I havent updated anything between everything working fine and all helll brooke loose. I was worried that there was a hardware problem that was causing this but after two hours of shooting the crap out of people with halflife under windows xp I'm pretty sure my pc's memory is fine. I also had some music software running for an hour or two under windows which heavely uses the same disk my Kubuntu is on so I do not believe it's a problem with the harddrive either.

I haven't got a clue if an older kernel would behave better. This one was working just fine untill a day or two a go. This is realy irritating because I have a lot of software and data under Kubuntu so I'm not realy happy about having to install kubuntu fresh. Haven't got 100 gig of free space to move all my data to either. Moving a large amount of data with the not realy stable ext2/3 driver for windows is not something I'm looking forward to either. Maybe I should play it save and install edgy and just wait until feisty matures. Never had any troubly with edgy other then installing beryl was a major pain in the *(**&^%