This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problem downloading Liquidweather for Superkaramba

Hi everyone. I'm new to Kubuntu, but have been using other distro's for several months. I really like this one and want to stay with it. One of my favorite things is Liquidweather for Superkaramba, I have installed it many times in other distro's but can't seem to get it in to this one. When I download it from its website, Kate opens and tells me that it is a binary download and saving it will result in a corrupt file. I usally just download the file and run it, have never seen this problem before.

Why does Kate want to open this file on download? The download link on the web page should simply download the file to my desktop but Kate won't leave it alone. Is she being bad? Thanks in advance for your help.

B

Re: Problem downloading Liquidweather for Superkaramba

I have same, I mean exactly the same problem ...

Comment

If you have superkaramba then just run it (K>utilities)and use the install local desing button to load it. If you don't have superkaramba follow this:
      http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3081970.0

Enjoy
      HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
      4 GB Ram
      Kubuntu 18.10

Comment

That is how I install it. To install this particular applet in Superkaramba, by clicking on "install" it takes you directly to the Liquidweather homepage to manually download from a mirror. This is the only way to install it and it has always worked, but doesn't seem to in Kubuntu. I think the problem is that the file is trying to be opened on download by Kate instead of just downloading the file to Desktop, i.e., instead of just saving the file Kate is trying to open it as a binary file.

Could someone try to install Liquidweather++ in Superkaramba and see if they are getting the same problem that me and toga 34 are having. Thanks again.

B

Comment

I am looking at liquid weather right now and have been for at least two years