Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

D-Link DWL520+ Can't connect to Access Point ("...association failed...")

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

D-Link DWL520+ Can't connect to Access Point ("...association failed...")

Hi,

I'm new to Kubuntu (7.04), first I wanted to try it without installing - I'm booting from CD.
    But I can't establish a connection with my Access Point, whereas with WinXP I have no problems.

The network card seems to be supported, system shows my AP, I can list other APs in my neighbourhood.
    Mine is NOT secured with WEP, as far as I know it only verifies the MAC address of my card.

What I could see in the system log is that it is tries (but fails) to associate with my AP. I set-up
    TCP/IP parameters (IP, mask, GW, dns, etc.), but this does not matter if my connection with AP is
    not yet established (correct?).

Can you suggest anything? What should I check? Any parameters to change for my wlan card?
    Thanks in advance for any help.

Chris

Re: D-Link DWL520+ Can't connect to Access Point ("...association failed...&quot

Well, no reply from you, but I managed to connect to my AP and my wifi network...

Just reading error messages in syslog does not help, they are too numerous and misleading.
    First, I tried to set-up network parameters in KNetworkManager (in icon tray), but they seemed not to
    work. When I looked in the terminal window they were not implemented. I used "iwconfig wlan0"
    and "iwlist wlan0" commands. Just my essid (network name) was not remembered and I could not
    "associate" with my AP. iwconfig showed large (and increasing) number of "tx excessive retries".

Then, I tried other things - started to configure all settings "manually" in the terminal. And this HELPED!
    What I needed was:

Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid <my_essid>
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 rate auto
    (when I tried 11M, my connection with AP was lost)
    Code: