X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't connect internet

Hi,

I'm very frustrated! I've tried everyhing to connect. this is what I've done so far:

Icon in system tray shows the following Wired internet connection active eth1

Using konqueror I get "unknown host"

Using "pppoe " command "pon dsl-provider" = so loaded

try Konqueror again and get same thing "unknown host.

I don't understand what I'm doing wrong been at it for 2 days now. never had problems with Mandrake.

Your help would be much appreciated

I have a dual boot Vista + Kubuntu 7.04

Re: Can't connect internet

I have a similar problem, but with email. I am writing because I know you are frustrated. I am a newbie, so I can only try to help. I have XP and Kubuntu. I had trouble with Konqueror originally, but I installed Firefox and it worked. Later after many other changes, Konqueror began working, and I don't know what made that happen. I think perhaps updates fixed the problem. If I just use XP, I can get email to work. When I apply the same settings to Thunderbird, both OS's stop receiving except from the KDEforum and Kubuntu Forum; they still come in. KMail would never work for me, and no one has offered to help with these problems so far. It is just a possibility, but try Firefox. Addionally, I use AT&T as a service provider (actually att. yayoo) and they do not support Linux; that is what I may have as a problem. Perhaps your provider does not support Linux either. Give them a call. If that is the problem, I don't know the solution, other than there are some very bright people who use Linux who may have a fix. I hope you can use any of my lame efforts to help you. If I find anything further, I will write. I have a friend who is Linux skilled, but he is hard to get hold of. Good Luck.

Comment

Problem solved!