X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

If installation worked!

Hey all,

This is my first post, as well as my first attempt to get rid of Windows . So far, this has been nothing but trouble. First of all I am a total noob at Linux and I don't have a clue at what all this code names mean. Why can't their just be one? And why can't this one actually have a install method that works? Anyway, so I boot up the live disk (that I burned the ISO image to) and of course I click install. Well I don't know much about partitions besides the fact I have one for backups when I need to reformat. So of course I have no clue how much space I need to partition so I just go with the "guided" first option which I assume makes the best (or what it assumes is the best) amount of space. Well that's fine, I don't mind it doing that. So I hit next and I get a small box with 0% that says it is resizing, and wa la... error "Resizing Partition Failure". What?... so now I am lead to believe I need to download something called Gpart and I can partition the drive myself with it. Then I go back to my first problem, I don't how much and I will probably mess something up... Can anybody help?

Re: If installation worked!

Are you trying to set up your computer to dual boot, both windows and Kubuntu? If so, the first thing you need to do is to defrag windows. I suggest you do it from safe mode for a better job. The partition manager is running into a problem resizing the windows partition to make room for Kubuntu because the current windows partition is fragmented. Once you've done that you should be able to proceed with the partitioning and install.

Comment

Some basic information as to what you have, and have (or have) not done in preparation to install Linux is in order.

1. What version of Windows do you have installed?

2. What version of Linux did you burn to the LiveCD?

3. What type of PC do you have (desktop or laptop)?