This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Weird Installing/Restarting Problem

I'm fairly new to the Kubuntu site but I wanted to post something I thought was sorta strange. About a year and a half ago I gave my friend a Ubuntu cd (first time we had ever heard of it) and it ran perfectly and he got it installed onto his home computer (long story, he had to delete it because of family's lack of understand it, he's going to get Kubuntu this time though since no one uses the computer now).

Well, I tried, back then, to install it and at the install screen it ran when it said "Run as LiveCD/Install" and it crashed, restarted, and did it all over again (also did it in every mode, mind you I was still a MicroSucks noob who didn't wanna put up with anything more then point, click, install). Frustrated I quit trying to use Ubuntu.

About a week ago I finally tried again (I hated Fedora's big brother view of music files, since most of my songs already are in mp3 format, and the lack of programs) and so I installed PCLinuxOS. Before I tried to install Kubuntu it almost didn't work and I tried in safe install (PCLinuxOS I mean).

Safe install had some jargon of how it would run (first time I actually saw the boot script) and it had something interesting that was different from the main install, the final script of "acpi=off". I wrote down everything that was in the Normal Setup and the Safe Setup. I tried changing the original boot up and it happened to work when I put that in. I looked it up it has something to do with power distribution (mind again, I'm still pretty noobish at Linux and would love to learn how to program so I could actually be a bigger part of Kubuntu.)