This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Grub not installed to MBR on Feisty installation

I have tried alternate and desktop ISOs, but in both cases once the installation procedure is complete when the machine reboots its as if nothing was put in the MBR by GRUB. The machine just reboots itself over and over. There is absolutely no GRUB stage messaging at all.

If I use the rescue option I can mount the drives and see the data. I am no GRUB expert, and vi is almost unusable in the rescue disk, so any real editing is virtually no good.

I have tried grub-install, same issue, I have tried the GRUB super disk, no change, in fact asking the system to boot using the super disk, it finds none of the drives in the fstab file.

For information purposes this is running on an Abit KG7-RAID mobo, with a highpoint raid controller built in. I saw all the issues around Dapper and extra controllers and never bothered to install because of those issues (stuck with Mdk 10.1 Community). Now I actually need to install a newer system (new HP printer wont play with older Linux) and apparently these issues are supposed to be fixed.

Its not some weird piece of server kit we're talking about, if (K)Ubuntu cant run with 5 year old desktop mobos, or anything with more than one IDE/SATA controller its a pretty hopeless state of affairs - Linux has a very good rep with this stuff, so how come its all broken now?

Can anyone tell me the secret to getting this stuff to work? After plodding through endless forums and posts I cant find a defacto way that works and wont require a rescue disk every time I need to update the kernel. What gives?

Thanks for any and all assistance!

Re: Grub not installed to MBR on Feisty installation

51mon,

First, I'd suggest making sure you have the latest bios update for the board.