This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Upgrading using the DVD

I'm running Edgy Eft and I have a Feisty Fawn DVD that I downloaded. I know how to upgrade to Feisty Fawn over the net, but is it possible to upgrade using the DVD (which should be much faster)? I tried using the Install on the DVD but it appeared ready to trash the existing Kubuntu partition, so I aborted it.

Re: Upgrading using the DVD

Hi,

I have the same problem, but from 6.06.1 LTS (Dapper) to 7.04 (Feisty).
    Could anybody write down a step-by-step guide to upgrade from DVD?

Thanks in advance!
    jcf

Comment

It's good to know someone else has the same problem, so the solution is probably not at all obvious if it exists at all.

Comment

I'm only a Newbie, but I believe I read somewhere that you can only use the Alternative Cd to upgrade, if you downloaded the DVD ISO it will only format your existing installing.
        Some one who is an expert might like to verify that

Comment

I'm no expert but I will also verify the above, the Alternative CD can be used for the upgrade, the other ISOs I believe are just for fresh installs.

Comment

I have tried both: DVD and Alternate CD. The result is the same .

Comment

What is supposed to be the difference between the regular DVD and the alternate DVD? Are there disadvantages of the alternate? And where does one find the alternate DVD?

Comment

I think there is not an alternate DVD, but an alternate CD.
                I think that DVD allow upgrade or clean install.
                You can get a CD for clean install and another one (alternate CD) for upgrade.

Regards.
                jcf

Comment

Not that I've managed to get this to work yet, but I don't think you want to boot from the alternate CD, you want to run it once you're in Kubuntu...

Comment

http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/upgrading

Upgrading using the alternate CD/DVD

Use this method if the system being upgraded is not connected to the Internet.