X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Not able to boot from live CD or install

Hi
    Live CD Feisty
    I am new to linux although I have had kubuntu/ubuntu and other distros installed on one of my boxes about a dozen times to get some experience. This box is a basic 700Mhz IDE machine nothing fancy.

I am trying now to run the live CD on my production box, 3.0Ghz 1Gig RAM with 160G IDE and 160G SATA. I have XP installed on the SATA which is regarded as Disk1 so the boot.ini file is on Disk0 which is the IDE.

OK so far? I am getting an error repeatadly during bootup to live CD about the HDD not being ready. Previously I have tried Edgy on this box with no success giving an error relating to IRQ 177 (nobody cares) and disabling this IRQ.

I have not been able to dump any error logs and so forth.

Can someone point me in the right direction to dual boot Kubuntu Feisty and Xp?

Regards
    TonyE

Re: Not able to boot from live CD or install

Just a suggestion. Have you tried the ubuntu herd live cd? I have found it to be more reliable. Don't ask me why but I have had similar expieriences with kubuntu herd cd's. I prefer kde but whatever works right?

Good luck
    F
    HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
    4 GB Ram
    Kubuntu 18.10

Comment

I tried the Ubuntu edgy live cd without success.

TonyE

Comment

Okay so much for that idea. Sorry. Did you ever get a Kubuntu installed on a IDE / SATA setup? I am asking because Linux "sees sata as scsi, thus sda. If so maybe you have do change something on the live boot options.

CHeers
        F
        HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
        4 GB Ram
        Kubuntu 18.10

Comment

Hi
          Not sure, don't know enough about linux to know what command line adjustments I would need to make.

The main reason that I want to install on my work comp is to see what a well spec-ed machine would be like as I would eventually like to go all linux at some stage.

Interested to know though.

TonyE

Comment