This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No sound on HP Pavilion...

Wellz, Im kinda new to kubuntu, and for some reason the sound just stopped working...It worked on the first time i booted kubuntu, but then after it just stopped working. Then I reinstalled kubuntu, and the same thing happenned all over again. I really need help pleeze!

...Oh, and if you need to know, I'm using an HP Pavilion dv9030 (yes, the pre-built one) so yah...

Re: No sound on HP Pavilion...

type lspci -v and you should see the default sound card built in. If you do not you will have to compile ALSA from scratch, assuming your card is supported. If your card is on the list you will have to play with the sound mixer. Is there a red line over the speaker icon on the bottom?

Comment

Okay, I've a Pavillion of my own and have no problems, but we might have different sound cards.

Before doing drastic things like reinstalling or compiling ALSA, have you tried all of the basics?

Open systemsettings and ensure the sound system is enabled.

If it is already, try disabling it (this might break KDE audio programs but might allow some non-KDE applications to work, it'll at least give you some better idea where the problem is - at the KDE level or lower, like ALSA).

Comment

I have a Palvilion a736n, I had no sound at first myself. I looked up the sound card info for my system on HP's site . In my case a RealTek sound adapter. I went to RealTek's site and found the LINUX driver.

Works good.

- Abigsky
        Windows Server Engineer by day,<br />Kubuntu junky by night.

Comment

Re: No sound on Acer Aspire laptop

I have no audio on an Acer Aspire 5043 WLMI (Kub FF 64 bits)
          Any damn clues how to fix this?
          Poseidon GNU/Linux 64 & 32 bits
          GNU/Linux user #451206
          (K)Ubuntu user #21328

Comment

Does a sound chip show up when you
            Code:
            lspci -v
            ?