X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

External Hard Disk

Hi there,

I am totally new in this. I came to know Kubuntu through a friend of my and I decided to give it a try few days ago. Everything's running good but I cannot access to my external hard disk. This is what I get when I plug it in

Unable to enter file:///media/HD. You do not have access rights to this location.

Is there a way that I can rectify the problem? Bear in mind that I am still a baby in this so would greatly appreciated it either of you can explain it in the much simpler way

VIR

Re: External Hard Disk

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3082964.0
    That thread first goes through how to mount your hd (which I'm guessing you've already done) and then how to change the permissions.

Comment

Thank you for replying. I still cannot access to my external hard disk. Is there more specific way of doing it? I am a real nerdy in this. Thanks in advance

Comment

At which step did you have a problem and what was it? Which of the following have you done, and which are you having problems with: 1. Format partition (if necessary), 2. Mount partition, 3. Change permissions

I'm guessing you are at the third step in which case the above linked thread should explain how to change the permissions. If you are unsure what it is saying then just ask some follow up questions.

As for other ways, as with everything in linux there is always the command line, the following walks through mounting a linux partition: http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/mountlinux

Comment

Manually adding entries to fstab for external drives is not an option. It seems that Kubuntu 7.04 is experiencing a problem with HAL + KDE (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...al/+bug/110210)
          USB external drives are not able to get mounted through KDE, pmount /dev/sdx works fine through the command line.

Comment

Originally posted by pestilence
            USB external drives are not able to get mounted through KDE