This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adept database locked

After not using Kubuntu for a while, I logged in today and wanted to do an update. When I launched Adept, I received a message that said that the database is locked and can only be used in "read only" mode. It said that the most likely cause was that another process was using the database. No other apps were running unless it was running in the background. The update monitor utility was running in the tray, but I closed it with no change and even tried rebooting with it off with no change - still the same message. I looked into the system settings/system services list and saw nothing that seemed to have anything to do with the database, though I am not experienced enough to spot something unless it was obvious.

Suggestions?

Running Kubuntu Dapper 6.0.6

Thanks!!

Optiker
    Optiker<br /><br />Alienware Area 51<br />P4 3.2 GHz, 4 GB RAM<br />NVIDIA GEFORCE 6800, 256 MB<br />Windows XP Home

Re: Adept database locked

Try a sudo apt-get update
    put that in konsole. it should tell you what to do at the end.

Comment

som...thanks for the reply...will try it next time I see this.

While I was waiting, I found this on another orum and it did the trick:

"I fixed this by deleting the contents of /var/lib/dpkg/updates, (don't delete the directory)"

Optiker
      Optiker<br /><br />Alienware Area 51<br />P4 3.2 GHz, 4 GB RAM<br />NVIDIA GEFORCE 6800, 256 MB<br />Windows XP Home

Comment

I'm having the same problem. Thanks for sharing the solution so I don't have to make another thread!

By the way, this always happens to me when Adept crashes on me. Is there a way to automate deleting the contents?
        The Universe is a figment of its own imagination.<br /><br />-Douglas Adams

Comment