This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu vs. Palm M500

I'm an old newbie and not a techie. With encouragement from now-absent expert, started yesterday running Kubuntu 6.06 LTS Dapper Drake. I'm long Palm-dependent using the old M500, but find I can't sync using either kpilot or jpilot. Poking around on the web I found reference to gnome-pilot which I downloaded and installed (I think) but cannot get to start or run. Can anyone lay out some really simple steps that might help me get Kubuntu and the Palm to start talking to each other? Any help appreciated.

Re: Kubuntu vs. Palm M500

I had a Palm Tungsten T5 working under Breezy, but I have not been able to get it to work under Dapper. From what I understand there's a kernel bug preventing many (but not all) from getting proper syncing working. Either way, in my experience w/ both gnome-pilot and kpilot, kpilot is the more reliable program. Have you added the udev rule yet?

Code:
    kdesu kwrite /etc/udev/rules.d/10-custom.rules
    add the following line:

Code:
    BUS="usb", SYSFS{product}="Palm Handheld*", KERNEL="ttyUSB*", NAME{ignore_remove}="pilot", MODE="666"
    Save and close the file. I would then reboot, and try a sync w/ either gnome-pilot or kpilot. Note, some of the newer models are "palmOne*" instead of "Palm Handheld*" above. If you go to device manager w/ the palm plugged in, it should be listed under the product ID section.

Comment

I am said "absent expert" in OP's post.

I am no expert, but I have fooled around with Palm-like devices and such through many iterations of both Linux and Palms.