X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Opera Webbrowser

Hi,

I want to install Opera on Kunbuntu 6.6

I am new to this distribution. I have downloaded the unbuntu opera, and have tried to install but have dependency problems. Have looked for these and connot find them... xlibsg6 and so on.

So I wondered if anyone could please point me in the right direction.

Re: Opera Webbrowser

xlibs (which some versions of opera depend on) isn't available for dapper.

Your options are:
    1. install a version of opera that does not depend on 'xlibs' (at least the latest betas shouldn't need it...you might try with a statically linked version, too)...there are a number of different versions available from opera. (recommended)

2. install 'xlibs' package from the Breezy repositories

3. edit the .deb package for depencies or force an installation ignoring dependencies.

Comment

Thanks for this.

Does this include packages like the w32codecs not being available yet as well?

My next Kunbuntu project!

Comment

No latest opera 9 still has the dependency problem.

How do you get to the brezzy depositories?

Comment

Originally posted by alec
          No latest opera 9 still has the dependency problem.
          Hmm...I have a version that doesn't need 'xlibs', but mine could be one of the weeklies...and I think there is a version for dapper somewhere deep at 'opera.com' but unfortunately I don't remember the path at the moment (if you're feeling adventurous you could try poking around)

How do you get to the brezzy depositories?
          You can (for example) add a breezy repository (temporarily) in your sources.list...probably something like:
          deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ breezy main restricted universe multiverse
          should do it (you should disable the repository again when you've installed 'xlibs')

Comment

Originally posted by alec
            Does this include packages like the w32codecs not being available yet as well?