This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Install Skype in Kubuntu 6.06

I am a newbie and just installed Kubuntu 6.06 LTS on my Compaq Presario 5000 and tried to install Skype. Everything looks fine until I launch the application from K menu > Internet > Skype, The hour glass icon rotating in the panel and the small Skype logo bouncing happily at the cursor about 3 seconds. Then every things are gone, no windows coming up, icon in panel gone, just nothing.

I install Skype by adding the line in /etc/apt/sources.list:

deb http://download.skype.com/linux/repos/debian/ stable non-free

Then:

root@xxxxxxx:~# apt-get update

root@xxxxxxx:~# apt-cache show skype
    Package: skype
    Version: 1.2.0.18-2
    Priority: extra
    Section: non-free/net
    Maintainer: Skype Technologies <info@skype.net>

root@xxxxxxx:~# wget http://www.skype.com/download/skype/...public-key.asc
    root@xxxxxxx:~# apt-key add rpm-public-key.asc
    OK

root@xxxxxxx:~# apt-get install skype
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
    0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Need to get 7906kB of archives.
    After unpacking 9160kB of additional disk space will be used.
    WARNING: The following packages cannot be authenticated!
    Install these packages without verification [y/N]? y
    Get:1 http://download.skype.com stable/non-free skype 1.2.0.18-2 [7906kB]
    Fetched 7906kB in 3m2s (43.4kB/s)
    Selecting previously deselected package skype.
    (Reading database ... 72870 files and directories currently installed.)
    Unpacking skype (from .../skype_1.2.0.18-2_i386.deb) ...
    Setting up skype (1.2.0.18-2) ..

Please help,

1) Where did I go wrong?
    2) The apt-key add rpm-public-key.asc give me a OK verbose but install still give me the authentication warning.

Thank you.

Re: Install Skype in Kubuntu 6.06