X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problem installing libxine-extracodecs

Hi Guys,
    Just installed Dapper on my laptop, very impressed. When i installed breezy i had ALOT of screwing around to get everything to work, from graphics drivers to hotkeys and such, but dapper just worked. awesome. anyway, I'm a newbie so bare with me,

i want to get Amarok playing mp3s. after some research i found this
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/RestrictedFormats
    which tells me i need to install libxine-extracodecs, and for k3b mp3 support i need to install libk3b2-mp3.

i've been using adept and getting pretty familiar with it, i added the multiverse repositories and found the packages. and marked them to install.
    but instead of the usual tag, i see BREAK(install).
    and when i go to apply changes, i get an error message
    "There was an error commiting changes. Possibly there was a problem downloading some packages or the commit would break packages."

im stumped and cant find any more info.

Re: Problem installing libxine-extracodecs

could it be that you have the amarok-arts package installed?

I have the extracodecs installed, but when I try to install amarok-arts I get a BREAK. So maybe there is a conflict between the two?

Just a wild guess. If you have it installed, remove it and try with extracodecs again.

Comment

Did you upgrade from Breezy or is that a fresh install? If it's a fresh install, what installer did you use? (official release, release candidate, or beta/"flights"?)

If you upgraded from Breezy, the problem, like what padre999, might be caused by some dependencies that amarok 1.3.8 used before. amarok 1.3.9 and above (Dapper only) uses different dependencies. also GStreamer support is broken in Kubuntu Dapper so only xine works. Here are the packages related to amaroK and xine that I have installed (this is from a semi-fresh install system):

amarok
      amarok-xine
      (kaffeine-xine)
      libxine-extracodecs
      libxine-main1