X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 6.06

Hi all. Am still trying to install 6.06. Machine is:
    P4,2.8G,1Gm,80G hd with Mandrake 9.2 installed and running fine.
    Have tried MANY times to install Cd.s sent direct from Kunbuntu on my machine. All with thes same results. No go.

I am a newbies newbie but the Mandrake distro went in without any problems. Put CD in machine and turned on computer. Started and ran the install. If I am following the doc right on the 6.06 , looks like it should do the same.

All I get is " Loading the Kernel , OK ". That's it. I can leave the machine on for an hour with the same results. What the hell am I missing or doing wrong?

Let me say that I have NO problems letting 6.06 trash the 9.2 but I never even get to that issue.

Any help will be appreciated as I am about to give up on Kubuntu.
    Thanks.

Re: Kubuntu 6.06

Does the Live CD boot to the desktop, or are you bypassing that?

An idea - when you first start up the CD there will be a menu, chose the Memtest86 option, let it run for a bit to test your ram.

What other hardware do you have on your computer - particularly the video card? Another problem area is sound cards, one computer I tried Ubuntu on wouldn't load the installer until I removed my Sound Blaster card (which is a piece of junk anyway).

Mandriva Linux, the folks that make Mandrake includes a lot of proprietary software and drivers. I'm sure some of that makes it's way into Mandrake. All the RPM distributions seem to support hardware a little differently than the Debian based distributions.

It could be they have support for some bit of your hardware out of the box that K/Ubuntu doesn't include because of it's free only policy.