This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No display after boot (New Install)

Hi this is my first time attempting to use Kubuntu. I have for a long time used Redhat, and more recently Fedora Core. I thought I'd give Kubuntu 6.06 Desktop AMD64 a try. I downloaded, checked the iso image (md5) and checked the burn (md5) all was fine. I attemped to Load and Install Kubuntu however I've stumbled upon a problem. Once the initial splash screen has gone through its steps, and daemons are loaded, the display just switches off, as in my monitor detects no signal and goes into suspend. At first I though it was due to using DVI. However I switched to RGB (Analogue) and still had the same problem. I have tried various monitors including LCDs and CRTs and no matter what I do I get no display. I also tried using ctrl-alt-backspace to drop to the console, when i do there is activity on my PC but I still get no display, using ctrl-alt-f6 and f7, also still no display. I have an ATi X850XT 256Mb graphics card (AGP 8x). I'm at a loss on what to do. Note: I have not had a problem like this using redhat or fedora. Any ideas?

Re: No display after boot (New Install)

Welcome to Kubuntu! I'm not sure which step is causing your problem. Have you succeeded in launching the live CD mode? If so, have you succeeded in installing Kubuntu? You didn't say which CD you downloaded, so I'm assuming you're using the Desktop CD. Is this correct?

Comment