This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Login problem

Hey everyone, I will admit that I am completely new to linux and need some help. I downloaded the alternate install file and successfully installed kubuntu. It loads and comes up to the loggin and that is where my problem comes in. I try logging in and all I get is invalid login whenever I try using the one that I set up during the installation. What should I do, PLEASE HELP!!!

Re: Login problem

Originally posted by darion
    Hey everyone, I will admit that I am completely new to linux and need some help. I downloaded the alternate install file and successfully installed kubuntu. It loads and comes up to the loggin and that is where my problem comes in. I try logging in and all I get is invalid login whenever I try using the one that I set up during the installation. What should I do, PLEASE HELP!!!
    First thing that comes to mind is that linux is case-sensitive, so make sure your username and password are typed exactly like you wrote them: 'Username' is not the same as 'username'...also check that Caps-lock is off.

You can reset the password by booting into the recovery mode:
    1a. choose recovery mode from the boot menu
    1b. if you can't see a boot menu when you boot up, press ESC when prompted 'press ESC to see the boot menu'...and choose recovery mode
    2. in the recovery console use the command:
    Code:
    passwd <USERNAME>
    (Where <USERNAME> is the username you want to change the password for)
    3. Quit the recovery console and reboot with command
    Code:
    reboot
    Post again if you're still having problems after these

Comment

I can't seem to find or get to recovery mode, any other suggestions. I probly should've mentioned the fact that it's on a powerpc so I don't know if they are set up alittle differant or not.

Comment

You can't get to the boot menu or recovery mode isn't available?

Do you have a live CD?

Comment