X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

unable to write to usb mp3 player - how to change permissions for a device

Hello Ubuntu users,

Firstly, I must say that I was very excited to find an Ubuntu newsgroup.
    There seems to be a lot of forums but not many newsgroups for Ubuntu and
    its variations (Kubuntu, Xubuntu, etc.).

I am hoping to get some assistance in fixing the problems I have been
    having with my mp3 player - Rio Cali. So far I have gotten my system to
    recognize my Rio as a usb device and have been able to mount it without
    any problems. I can read from it but I cannot write to it.

A basic web search led me to believe that I don't have the right
    permissions for my drive. But unfortunately, I am very new to Linux
    (and Ubuntu) and cant make any sense out of the instructions on some of
    the websites.

I would like to be able to write to my Rio as a user (without requiring
    to be the root user every time). I would greatly appreciate a response
    which contains step-by-step instructions on the fix.

My operating system is Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake) and I am using KDE as
    my desktop.

Thanks in advance.
    Funkid

PS: My eventual goal is to be able to connect to my Rio using amaroK
    and sync up my songs just like I used to do with my Rio and windows
    media player (WMP). At the moment I am unable to and I suspect it is
    because I do no have the right permissions (as a user) to access the Rio
    from amaroK.

Re: unable to write to usb mp3 player - how to change permissions for a device

Allright,

you have the same Problem, I guess, that most users have. Only Root is allowed to mount a Device. So If your System mounts a pluged in Device automaticaly (you didn't mount it yourself), you'll always have the right to read but not to write. Same thing, if you mount manualy.

Here is a solution, but this has two considerable disadvantages. Thats why these came first: