This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New user cannot mount drives

I am new to KuBuntu, very new. I am quite adept with windows, and for various reasons wanted to try something new and refreshing and it looks like KuBuntu is it! Where has it been all my life? LOL

I installed it using the live CD with no problems whatsoever; I can dual boot to XP easily, and I am very happy with it. I used the Adept app to download updates and so far I am like a kid with a new toy; it's smooth, looks very good, and has a kind of sophistication that I find attractive.

To my problem, I have been unable to mount the fat32 drive I created in XP. Each time I right click it and click "mount", I get an error

"could not mount device, mount: can't find /dev/hda(1,5,or 6) in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab.

I read through a lot of the installed KuBuntu help and, not that there isn't a lot of documentation, because there is. Problem is that there is so much, that I can't get my windows geek mind around it......yet. The terminology and command line is new to me so...I'm stuck. I will keep reading and studying (it's new and interesting!) but I would really appreciate some help and guidance. Either way, I have a steep learning curve ahead of me and that's ok. Any help would be truly appreciated, thanks.

Nightcrawlers
    Nightcrawler

Re: New user cannot mount drives

It would be good if you could post your /etc/fstab here.
    open konsole and do
    cat /etc/fstab
    then select, copy and paste it here.

First you have to edit your /etc/fstab

open konsole and type sudo kate /etc/fstab

this will open the file in a text editor.
    You will have to know what the drive labels are i.e. hda, hda1, hda2 blah blah