X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Second Hard Drive For Storage

Hello Folks,
    I am fairly new to linux and I have decided to take the plunge and completely and get rid of my dual boot system with Windoz. I have 2 seperate 120 Gig HD's and I Installed Kubuntu on the Master Drive : /dev/hda as ext3 and I would like to use the second drive as a storage drive for Kubuntu and I'm not sure were to go from here. I haven't really done any manual partitioning using linux or for that matter with any OS.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Caio

Re: Second Hard Drive For Storage

I can't say that I know how, but I wanted to share a recent experience. I had win on hda and ubuntu on hdb. I decided to buy a larger drive for hdb and install kubuntu on it instead of ubuntu. When I unplugged the drive and tried to reboot (it's a long story as to why I did this step), I got a grub error. So I attached the new drive and immediately ran the kubuntu live cd and installed it. So, there may be some kind of trick you have to do depending on where your bootloader is set up (I'm not an expert, I'm just guessing). Good luck.

john

Comment

Originally posted by salmann54
      I have 2 seperate 120 Gig HD's and I Installed Kubuntu on the Master Drive : /dev/hda as ext3 and I would like to use the second drive as a storage drive for Kubuntu and I'm not sure were to go from here. I haven't really done any manual partitioning using linux or for that matter with any OS.
      So you already have a working kubuntu installation on your primary drive?
      Then the process should be fairly simple:

1. Create the partition and the filesystem (or several partitions and filesystems, depending on your needs)
      You can use a graphical tool for creating partitions and filesystems, like 'qtparted' or 'gparted'...they are available from the repositories if they aren't installed
      NOTE: this will erase all the data on the disk so be careful.