Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

is gcc 4.6.3 included with Kubuntu 12.04 LTS?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

is gcc 4.6.3 included with Kubuntu 12.04 LTS?

If gcc 4.6.3 is included with Kubuntu 12.04 LTS, in wich directory does it live? I'm new at this. Yesterday I installed Kubuntu 12.04 LTS on my old IBM! ThinkPad G41. I had created for this purpose a 200 GB and a 2GB partition on a 320 GB hard disk. I now have a dual-boot setup for Kubuntu and Windows XP. From reading some release-notes-like document it seemed to me that Kubuntu 12.04 comes with the compiler gcc 4.6.3 included. Today, after Nepomuk was done indexing the files on my Kubuntu partition, I searched for files which had gcc in their names. All I found were approximately 18 files in folders /usr/src/linux-headers-3.2.0-2n* where n = 3 or 4. That made me wonder if only gcc ver 3.2.0 is included instead of 4.6.3. Is that true? If gcc 4.6.3 is actually included please tell me in which directory it is stored. Thanks! Vim

$ apt-cache policy gcc
    gcc:
    Installed: 4:4.6.3-1ubuntu5
    Candidate: 4:4.6.3-1ubuntu5
    Version table:
    *** 4:4.6.3-1ubuntu5 0
    500 http://mirror.cc.columbia.edu/pub/linux/ubuntu/archive/ precise/main amd64 Packages
    100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

$ locate gcc

produces a long list, including /usr/bin/gcc-4.6

Comment

Just open a console and type:
      Code:
      sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install gcc
      If gcc is already installed, your will be told so. If it isn't installed, it will be.
      Windows no longer obstructs my view.
      Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007.
      "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Originally posted by ronw View Post
        $ apt-cache policy gcc
        ... [snip] ...
        Using that command I learned that gcc had not been installed on my system. Thanks!

Comment

Originally posted by Snowhog View Post