Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

iPod 5th Gen w/ Amarok (music not recognized)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

iPod 5th Gen w/ Amarok (music not recognized)

Hello, I'm new to Kubuntu and still getting used to all the wonderful apps, repositories and general maze that Linux is. This is my first week on the OS and the experience is getting better.

Getting to the issue: I'm using the default player (Amarok) to manage my music, it's a lot like winamp imo which i used before. The problem is that Amarok recognizes my iPod 5th gen, but fails to list any kind of music files in the browser (I know they're there because I am actually listening to them on Amarok, which I found by fiddling in iPod_Control-> music... ).

I've been reading about the issues with other ipods, firewireguid (no idea about), but there's no threads that seem to help.

Is there a program that can get Amarok to recognize my iPod? and How would I install it?

Ruben

Re: iPod 5th Gen w/ Amarok (music not recognized)

Hi Ruben
    and welcome to a great adventure, every Linux person in this forum started out just like you!

I don't use Ipod but just a plain vanilla mp3 player so I have no first hand information.

if there is such a person at the forum, I'm sure he or she will be by relatively quickly.

However, to help you while away the time maybe this will help, if it does OR does not please so state.

http://amarok.kde.org/wiki/Media_Device:IPod

again, welcome to a very friendly forum!

woodsmoke

Comment

Thanks woodsmoke, I had a look at this same page before, actually, more concisely the "My iPod does not show any music" section. I've been barely using the console and am hesitant to mess up my system/ ipod so soon.

Comment

ok,
        just hang tight somebody will be by shortly.

woodsmoke

Comment

Hi and welcome.

To get any ipod to work you will need to have installed as a bare minimum the package libgpod.