X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kpackagekit or Synaptic?

Guys (and Gals),

I'm relatively new to Kubuntu (recently emigrated from Ubuntu) and although I have no problem with Kpackagekit I can't help but notice there was a lot more packages/softare available with Ubuntu via Synaptic and the Ubuntu Software Center.

I'm just wondering who use what and if using synaptic presents any problems within Kubuntu?
    Kubuntu 15.10

Re: Kpackagekit or Synaptic?

KPackageKit is chosen by default when the automatic updating occurs. A lot of folks in this forum prefer Synaptic, as I do.

But, when installing Synaptic one doesn't need to install all of the Gnome recommended files.

In a Konsole type
    sudo apt-get install --no-install-recommends synaptic

Synaptic keeps a much more usable history of your installs and removes than KPackageKit. Many think its format and GUI better and more easily used than KPK. But, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

I also prefer synaptic. Works just fine in KDE.
      we see things not as they are, but as we are.
      -- anais nin

Comment

Originally posted by wizard10000
        I also prefer synaptic.
        Me three.
        Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all! http://peacewithgod.jesus.net/
        How do I know this personally? Please read here: https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...hn-8-12-36442/
        PLEASE LISTEN TO THIS PODCAST! You don't have to end up here: https://soulchoiceministries.org/pod...i-see-in-hell/

Comment

Here:

#1 Commandline: apt-get + aptitude
          #2 Muon
          #3 Synaptic

Earlier > http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...pic=3085333.0:
          Post by: Rog131 on July 29, 2007, 04:54:57 am

Happily using synaptic+apt-get (adept - maybe someday but not yet )