This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] Networking issues.

Hi. I am new to linux/Ubuntu/Kubuntu, but I have recently installed Kubuntu 11.04 on my laptop (Dell Inspiron 1501). As of now the only thing installed is the OS.

I have not been able to obtain a network connection of any type. It does not seem to be able to find my wireless modem, nor is it working when connected directly to the router.

The router is a Linksys WRT54G.

I could use help if anyone has any advice. Please keep in mind that i am VERY NEW to linux and may be unfamiliar with terms relating only to linux.

Thanks,
    TBD

Re: Networking issues.

Originally posted by thebigdawg
    ...nor is it working when connected directly to the router.

The router is a Linksys WRT54G.
    That you can't get a network connection with a wired connection to your router is disturbing. I have the Linux version (firmware) of the same router. When wired to it, you should get an Internet connection when you boot. Did you install Natty while connected to the router?
    Windows no longer obstructs my view.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007.
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Thanks for the quick reply.

No I installed from an alternate CD downloaded from the Kubuntu site. For whatever reason the install GUI would not work on my laptop and I had to install via the alternate, with no connectios other than a power cord.

Comment

Since installing, have you connected to the router and then did a system restart?

Comment

I had restarted multiple times since install. But for posterity's sake I did it again, making sure network cable was firmly connected to both the router and laptop. Unfortunately still no connection.

At a complete loss at this point

Thanks,
          TBD

Comment

Have you verified that the routers settings are all correct? Your router has to have the DHCP Server checked.

Comment