Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

PSPP Stastistical Software Not Booting(Running, Working)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PSPP Stastistical Software Not Booting(Running, Working)

Dear Forum Attendants,

I am a student and as long as my political activism is not castrated I will use linux.

However, fighting the machine is not always simple. I need to run a statistical software, R is not suitable, most of our datasets are made on SPSS and importing stuff just never works completely.

I know there is something called PSPP which could be the saviour, yet it is not working. I install the thing and once i try to run it, it comes up and suddenly dissapears.
    I tried running it in the terminal, over there everything seems to be working, but still no user interface appears.

Any suggestions how could I try running PSPP?

Re: PSPP Stastistical Software Not Booting(Running, Working)

See PSPP Table of Contents
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Well, and this helps me how?

Comment

Downloaded via apt-get install pspp and tested it here in Natty.

In the K Menu, the application is in Education > Mathmatics and Education > Science Launching from either location brings up the application.

How did you install pspp?
        Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
        "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

I use Kubuntu 10.10

Installed it from software respiratory - did not work. Installed it through terminal, as you suggested - did not work either.

The very first time I installed it, it worked until I opened a first dataset and then it just does not come up again

Comment

Works here. What happens when you type "psppire" in the terminal?

Comment

psppire gives this: