This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nvidia driver screwed up again (Solved)

I had the Nvidia driver 195.36.15 from nvidia's site working fine until an update 2 days ago which totally messed it up again. Now it won't take the driver at all. I have tried all the ways listed including dibl's way, which worked before, and nothing works. Why would kubuntu do this with nvidia? The nouveau driver should be a choice not installed by default, especially when it's not even finished yet, and give you all this trouble. I can not keep trying to reinstall my video driver every time an update comes along. I have been donating $20 a month for 3 years to this project and this has totally disgusted me. I should be able to use any driver I chose. Does anyone know why kubuntu did this with this nouveau driver and more important how do I get the Nvidia driver to work again?
    Oneiric 11.10 KDE Version 4.7.4<br />Duo core 1.8 Intel<br />4 gig ram<br />Nvidia Go 7300 Graphics<br />Dell E1505 Laptop<br /><br />I&#39;m a happy pappy with Linux on my lappy!!!

Re: Nvidia driver screwed up again

I can't speak for Kubuntu/Canonical -- I suppose they're trying promote FOSS, which nouveau is.

However, to your point -- I downloaded and installed the new 256.35 Beta driver yesterday and it is working fine. I'm going to gently suggest that you may have rushed the process or skipped over something important. Also, once you have blacklisted the nouveau driver, and if you will keep your downloaded Nvidia installer package in /home/eddie/Downloads, then this is all you will ever need to do to reinstall it (after a new kernel installation, for example):

- Ctrl-Alt-F1 to the tty console
    - sudo service kdm stop
    - cd /tmp
    - sudo cp /home/eddie/Do{tab to complete}/NV{tab to complete} .
    - sudo sh NV{tab to complete}
    {accept the license, "YES" to the first 3 questions, "NO" to a new xorg.conf, "OK" to the readme.txt ...}
    - sudo service kdm start