This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu keeps auto rebooting

Hello, this is my first post here. Just installed kubuntu on 2 different partitions (because the first one didnt work, just kept rebooting). Now the second is doing the same. On both partitions i also got a WindowsXP installed.

The installation goes fine. After install i reboot. Then i get a choice of OS. I pick kubuntu, the screen goes black after 3-4 sec and it automatically reboots.

I can press the 'e' to enter the edit menu. It shows this:

GNU GRUB version 1.98-1ubuntu5

recordfail
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0.6)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set e3893382-7cf1-4a5c-992f-e3fe12d43/a64
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-24-generic-pae root=UUID=e3893382-7cf1-4a/5c-992f-e3fe12d43a64 ro quiet splash
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-24-generic-pae

Im a total noob to (k)ubuntu. I do think that kubuntu has issues detecting the hd. The hd is detected in BIOS though (SATA 1 > Maxtor 6L200M0). Can someone help me to fix this?

Re: Kubuntu keeps auto rebooting

Hello Kbooter and welcome to the forum and to the Kubuntu operating system.

To begin, I need to better understand your situation. Right now, you have Kubuntu AND Windoze XP installed on two different partitions of the same physical HD and the second partition is bootable after failing with the first. Is that correct?
    "If you're in a room with another person who sees the world exactly as you do, one of you is redundant." Dr. Steven Covey, The 7-Habits of Highly Effective People

Comment

Yes, it looks like

partition 1 - XP and Kubuntu
      partition 2 - XP and Kubuntu

all on the same physical hd. I formatted both partitions ntfs before installing. Both kubuntu (not XP) arent bootable, they keep rebooting (same with the recovery version).

This is how de 'e' menu looks on the first kubuntu

insmod ntfs
      set root='(hd0,2)'
      search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 54cc9251cc922cec