This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fresh install of Lucid (i386 alternate CD) using ext4 freezes

I downloaded the latest LL i386 alternate CD image, checked the MD5sum, it matched and burned it with K3B (which I've used many times to burn images).

Installation went without any problems, including removal of CD and reboot, poweroff, poweron, blank screen, waiting, nothing, trying all possible combinations, only poweroff works. Wait, poweron, the appearance of system loading, blank screen, nothing. I'm single booting using 100% of the hard disk, three partitions, /,/home and swap, the first two ext4 (which worked with metamorphose 2.0)

Any ideas?
    HP Compaq nc6400, 2Gi, 100Gi, ATI x1300 with 512M

Re: Fresh install of Lucid (i386 alternate CD) using ext4 freezes

Hi everyone,

I'm new around here and I have little experience with linux but have exactly the same problem. I was on Karmic Koala and tried to upgrade to Lucid Lynx on the GUI, getting a complete download but a fail, so when I tryed to reboot the system, it would show a blank screen after the splash screen.
    From console, I tried to finish the upgrade using

dpkg --configure -a
    apt-get update
    apt-get -f install
    apt-get dist-upgrade

untill I got that everything was allright.

Then when I rebooted, I even didn't get the splash screen, just after the GRUB I got a blank screen.

So I tried a fresh install, with the same result.

Any help?

I don't want to go back to karmic koala...

Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by kevinc

Any ideas?
      Yes, an experiment.