This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ugly boot splash - ati or nvidia drivers <Work Around>

I just spent a day and a half installing the new release. It took forever because the repos were sloooooooow.

Anyway, I installed the nvidia latest driver via jockey and boy does it look horrible. The desktop background is visibly grainy (I'm using my own image) and the terminal font is actually blurry.

These opinions are when comparing it to my 9.10 install using the same nvidia driver and same xorg.conf.

I haven't spent any time researching the problem because I'm using 9.10 instead. I think I'll be waiting another month before I try it again.

I wondered if anyone else is having the same issue or knows a "magic bullet" that might fix it before I wipe it and re-install.

Please Read Me

Re: Fresh install - bad first impressions - xorg or nvidia drivers??

I'm a total noob so take this with a salt lick. I had had the same problem and I used the NVIDIA X Server setting (I can't remember how that got there is my settings menu) to sort things out. I was surprised it detected everything and everything went from grainy to awesome.

Comment

Alt-F2 "kdesudo nvidia-settings" ?

Comment

Yeah well, I'm an experienced nvidia user. I can and have used nvidia-settings but the GUI interface doesn't have enough capability to do the edits I desire, so I rarely use it except to get information.

As I said, I'm using the exact same xorg.conf file and the same nvidia overclock (coolbits) settings in 9.10 and 10.04. I was just surprised to see the degraded look in 10.04.

The only obvious difference I've discovered so far is there is no /etc/dbus-1/system.d/xorg-server.conf file in the new install. But the settings in there aren't (or at least don't appear so) related to presentation but rather screen control.